Finder 100% CPU Usage (or 80%)

Mine was solved by going to Finder, CMD+J, then disabling “Show Icon Preview”.

That let me know some kind of thumbnail generation was failing, and since this was a new problem, I started looking at recent files on my desktop. One of them did not have a preview. I deleted that, and my fans immediately turned off.

I don’t know what file it was, but apparently it was stuck on it…

One thought on “Finder 100% CPU Usage (or 80%)

  1. I found when I use this theme, the cpu usage of my web hosting is pretty high, almost always as high as 100%, but this does not happen when using my previous theme.
    Do you also have this issue?

Leave a Reply

