The Girl Who Leapt Through Time

This animation was enjoyable enough that I am about to write about it, the day after I watched it. For those of you I’m going to lose in the first sentence, watch it. Don’t watch the dub.

For a real review of this film, check out the bunny who didn’t even like it the first time. I think she does a great job describing how ‘slice of life’ shows are supposed to be appreciated.

Anyways, these days, anything that stays in recent memory has to have touched me somehow. Most of the best movies I’ve ever seen fade into memory quite quickly, because as good and enjoyable as it was to watch the films, I don’t relate to them in any way. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is a movie that “hurts so good” because I relate to it in every way.

I’m a 22 year old Japanese American (this is about how I was raised, not race. If you’re a Japanese American but don’t know Japanese, you’re culturally American) living my life like a 40 year old American.

I’ve come to realize there are certain things one should do while young.. You have only a few years to be a young, and the rest of your life to be old. Settle into your career, have a family, and so on. This movie breaks my Japanese heart. It lingers in my mind that the life I am living can be experienced in the rest of my life, while the life I am not living can never be experienced again. This movie reminds me so genuinely about the simple pleasures in life, and the days when I don’t feel like I have a massive choice to make about my life.

It hurts when I compare it to my own life, where each day is a chore and a grind, all for a future goal of making my business successful. If I wasn’t so invested in it, I would be long gone, looking back to the days of living day by day.

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time makes up for its plot pitfalls and unexplained questions with a beautiful portrayal of life. For example, every time she goes through time, whatever existence she left behind will keep existing, and Makoto would have been on the missing children list, just like the ending when *somebody* disappears.

This show is all about the small moments in life. I enjoyed every damn minute of this show. If it seems slow, it’s not a cheap frame freeze but beautifully animated “slow”. The sound is great, and I can even appreciate the sounds of doors closing.

I’ve experienced something quite like their depictions of life in my Japanese side of life, and it’s utterly memorable. I think about those days every single day. This movie reminds me that I’m just as Japanese as American, and that it doesn’t need to seem unfortunate.

I always think Americans are lucky they can only be American. And Japanese are lucky they can only be Japanese. Being raised in both cultures legitimately gives you the difficult question of who you are.

I fear my time is almost up to try being more Japanese. Here’s to the company, that I won’t be married to it for 5 more years, and that I can see where I belong before it’s too late.

In the end, some movies are life changing. I’ve had this experience before, where suddenly an experience puts my life in focus and I begin to question what I’m doing. I’m not satisfied with my actions anymore. My justifications for being miserable useless. It may blow over me as usual, but to the movies that hit me this hard: congratulations, I could watch you all day.

Leave a Reply

